Address: 3rd district, Kiscelli utca 108
How to get there: Bus 60, 165, Tram 17
Open: 10am-6pm Apr 1-Oct 31, 10am-4pm Nov 1-Mar 31, closed on Mondays
The building was once a Trinitarian monastery (in operation until 1784), housing monks invited by the Zichy family. Its architect was Johann Entzenhoffer, resident of Vienna. During the 19th century, it was used as military residence, and in the beginning of the 20th century, Miksa Schmidt, cabinet factory owner in Vienna, who placed his own collection here, bought it. He deemed the building and the surrounding park to the city, the only requirement being that a museum should operate in the mansion.
In 1938, the capital moved its historical and art collections to this place, but both the building and the items were heavily damaged during the siege of Budapest in the War. After the reconstruction, the museum re-opened in 1949.
Today, the museum is administratively a branch of the Budapest History Museum, and has two sections. One covers the modern history of Budapest, presenting a unique collection of paintings, prints and graphic art, and the other contains the Budapest Archive artistic collection.
Permanent exhibitions include:
The Golden Lion Pharmacy
Printing Offices and the Press in Budapest
Old Trade and Shop Symbols in Pest
Statue Park on the History of the City
During the summer, temporary exhibitions and concerts are held.