Budapest Hotel Charles - Apartment Hotel HOME

In May 2004, Hungary joined the EU

Budapest History

Today, the city covers an area of two hundred square miles, divided into 23 administrative districts, and it is home to a population of 1.8 million people.


In 1987, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee added the Buda Castle Quarter, Gellért Hill, the Parliament, and the Downtown Church, together with the bridges, to its world cultural heritage list, because of their exceptional value and rare beauty. The borders of the extended area, connecting the significant parts of the capital, which belongs to the UNESCO World Heritage, are the following:

- The banks of the Danube between Margaret and Petofi Bridges, along with the entire Margaret Island

- The squares facing the Danube on the Pest side, in the north from Katona street to the south until Petofi Bridge; and on the Buda side, from Gellért Hill to the Castle Hill, along with Water Town, and further up north, along Fő street and Frankel Leo street to Komjádi street.


Mar 1999 Hungary joins NATO

May 2004 Hungary joins the EU

"...three star hotel with four star restaurant and five star service   ...on two star prices!" - James Woodward, Ohio